Presents

THE FUTURE OF
MASS TIMBER

September 24

Register

Ask any architect or engineer—timber is
growing (no pun intended) on everyone.

Mass timber construction is on the rise from the Pacific Northwest to the Deep South, promising new potentialities in tactile design and engineering; all while offering aesthetically pleasing solutions to sustainability goals. The Future of Mass Timber will foreground exemplary timber projects across North America; identify best-case practices for their assembly; and spotlight emerging technologies within this exciting field.

Earn up to 7 AIA HSW CEUs

Meet with sponsors and learn about products

Hear speakers on the main stage

Connect with other attendees during breakout sessions

The online experience:
Find out more about what it's like to attend

Learn More

Program

Earn up to 5 AIA HSW CEUs

7:45 AM PT (10:45 AM ET)

Virtual Doors Open

7:50 AM PT (10:50 AM ET)

Welcome

  • Dionne Darling

    VP of Brand Partnerships

    The Architect’s Newspaper

8:00 AM PT (11:00 AM ET)

Looking ahead: The Future of Mass Timber in the US

What’s next for mass timber? This presentation highlights the US’ legacy of timber construction and recent wood innovations, with a focus on the issues that will shape the next decade of mass timber design. Specific themes to be addressed include sustainable wood sourcing, timber’s economic benefit to rural communities, hybrid timber structures, early adoption of the 2021 IBC timber code provisions, and more integrated approaches to design and fabrication.

  • Thomas Robinson

    Founding Principal

    Lever Architecture

  • Matt Shaw MODERATOR

    Contributing Editor

    The Architect's Newspaper

9:00 AM PT (12:00 PM ET)

CLT's High Ambitions: Timber Assembly in Tower Design

Once relegated for use in smaller projects, structural timber now promises to redefine skyscraper design. This panel will focus on two Toronto towers that are leading the way in this trend, with the aim of highlighting the structural intricacies at work in both. Crucially, the discussion will expound on ways these practices might be applied on building sites across North America.

  • Anne Koven MODERATOR

    Director

    Mass Timber Institute

  • Leland Dadson

    Senior Architect

    MJMA

  • Carol Phillips

    Partner

    Moriyama & Teshima Architects

  • Robert Jackson

    Associate

    Fast + Epp

  • Simon Rayment

    Associate

    Blackwell Structural Engineers

10:00 AM PT (1:00 PM ET)

Workshop/Session

  • Construction Phase Moisture Management for Timber Structures
  • Rosboro X-Rim: Glulam Rim Board and Fire Detailing
  • Indoor Environmental Quality Benefits of Access Floors
10:30 AM PT (1:30 PM ET)

Methods + Materials Break

10:40 AM PT (1:40 PM ET)

Keynote: Innovation in Arkansas

  • Peter MacKeith

    Dean

    Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas

  • Matt Shaw MODERATOR

    Contributing Editor

    The Architect's Newspaper

11:40 AM PT (2:40 PM ET)

Timber Tectonics: Structure and Joinery

As mass timber pushes the limits of tactile design and construction, it has opened up new levels of tectonic sophistication. From castings and plates to cross-laminated timber panels, architects and engineers are able to foreground joinery and structure as central aesthetic components like never before. Panelists will dig into building details to show how all the pieces come together.

  • Ashley Rao

    Senior Associate

    Leers Weinzapfel Associates

  • Tom Chung

    Principal

    Leers Weinzapfel Associates

  • Roshanak Mostaghim

    Senior Designer

    SOM

  • Zarmine Nigohos

    Senior Architect

    SOM

  • Matthew Marani MODERATOR

    Program Manager

    The Architect’s Newspaper

12:40 PM PT (3:40 PM ET)

Workshop/Session

  • Embodied Carbon: Parametrically Comparing and Optimizing
  • Rosboro Laminated Decking: A Cost Competitive CLT Alternative
  • Aesthetic Benefits of Access Floors with Mass Timber
1:10 PM PT (4:10 PM ET)

Methods + Materials Break

1:20 PM PT (4:20 PM ET)

Wood Futures: Pushing Boundaries in Digital Fabrication & Engineering

From mass timber to free forms, integrated delivery methods are enabling advances in innovative and cost-effective design with timber. Engineers and consultants across North America are driving this innovation using the latest in computational design and digital fabrication techniques. Three experts will discuss advances in structural engineering, envelope design, and fabrication, using recent design collaborations to give a sense of where timber goes from here.

  • Ted Hall

    Founder & Creative Director

    Spearhead

  • Lucas Epp

    Engineering + 3D Manager

    StructureCraft

  • Eric Wood

    Facade Specialist/ Mass Timber Practice Lead

    Morrison Hershfield

  • Matthew Marani MODERATOR

    Program Manager

    The Architect’s Newspaper

This panel is sponsored by Morrison Hershfield, Spearhead, and StructureCraft.

POWERED BY
Earn up to 2 AIA CEUs
2:20 PM PT (5:20 PM ET)

Performance-Based Fire Engineering for Mass Timber Buildings

1 LU | HSW

Course Description »

  • Tanya Luthi

    Vice President, Structures

    Entuitive

  • Matthew Smith

    Associate, Fire & Structural

    Entuitive

3:20 PM PT (6:20 PM ET)

Glulam: A Framework for Mass Timber Construction

1 AIA LU

Course Description »

  • Jared Hensley

    Director of Engineering

    Rosboro

Full Day Pricing

Symposium + Afternoon CE Strong Courses. Earn up to 7 AIA CEUs.

Early Bird First 50 registrants

  • 150

General Admissions

  • 200

Student

  • 25

Register

Sponsors

Meet with industry-leading manufacturers of every possible exteriors product.

Industry Partners

View the Sponsors Become a Sponsor

Contact Us

TICKET SALES/REGISTRATION

Shabnam Zia
szia@archpaper.com
212-966-0630 ext. 62

SPONSORSHIP/EXHIBIT

Diana Darling
ddarling@archpaper.com
212-966-0630 ext. 11

EVENTS MARKETING MANAGER

Karen Diaz
kdiaz@archpaper.com
212-966-0630 ext. 19

CONFERENCE PROGRAM

Matthew Marani
mmarani@archpaper.com
212-966-0630 ext. 25

AIA CEUs

Ankit Rauniyar
ankitr@archpaper.com
212-966-0630 ext. 18